HDMI – the categories and their purposes

With the launch of the HDMI 1.4, there five HDMI cable categories, each designed to achieve different performance.

To make things less confusing, HDMI cables will be categorised by type.

Standard HDMI Cable

This HDMI cable is best for most home use, and is able to transmit 1080i or 720p video, which are most frequently used by cable, satellite, HD, and premium DVD players.

Standard HDMI Cable with Ethernet

This cable provides 720p or 1080i video resolution, but also has an HDMI Ethernet Channel, specifically needed for networking.

Automotive HDMI Cable

This is for vehicles with onboard HD video systems. The difference here lies in the cables ability to deal with vibration and temperature change without affecting quality.

High Speed HDMI Cable

High Speed HDMI can handle video resolutions of 1080p and more, as well as even more sophisticated technologies such as 3D. We suggest that you choose this cable if you are using it for such purposes or connecting your 1080p display to a 1080p content source, such as a Blu-ray Disc player.

High Speed HDMI Cable with Ethernet

As with the relationship between standard HDMI and standard HDMI with ethernet, High speed HDMI works in the way. There is an extra data channel for device networking.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Comments are closed.