Want to know more about the different versions of HDMI cables? Read on

HDMI cables are a technological marvel, mainly because of the great benefits they offer to home entertainment fans. These cables help in transferring data from a transmitting unit to a display device. They enhance the overall quality of the data being transferred, for example – they make it possible for you to view your favourite movie in high-definition.

When purchasing HDMI cables, you will come across four basic types. These include HDMI 1.1, HDMI 1.2, HDMI 1.2a and HDMI 1.3. You might not notice major differences in the functionality or even the style of the cables, but it can be useful to know about them.

HDMI 1.1

The earliest and the most basic form of HDMI cables, the 1.1 supported DVD audio only. Transmitting video or high definition images was not possible with HDMI cable 1.1.

HDMI 1.2

The first upgrade for HDMI 1.1 included support for One Bit Audio Format. Super Audios and DSD (Direct Stream Digital) were also supported in HDMI 1.2. Apart from these features, HDMI 1.2 also included availability of the widely used HDMI Type ‘A’ connector for PC sources and displays with full support for PC video formats. The option to support the YCbCr colour space was also added in the 1.2. The enhancements in these cables made it possible for later displays to support future low voltage sources, such as the PCI Express I/O technology.

HDMI 1.2a

Version 1.2a did not see many upgrades or enhancements, apart from offering support for HDMI CTS 1.2a technical consistency.

HDMI 1.3

HDMI 1.3 increases the single link bandwidth to 340 MHz (10.2 GBPS) with added support for high end display devices. HDMI 1.3 also boasts support for 10-bit, 12-bit and 16-bit. “x.v.Color™” and IEC 61966-2-4 xvYCC colour standards are also supported.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Comments are closed.