HDMI cables – What are the different types available?

If you have recently purchased a new PlayStation, Xbox, Blu-ray player or a new HDTV, it is recommended to use HDMI cables for signal transmission. These cables are specially designed for carrying high quality audio and visual signals between different HD multimedia devices. The high-definition multimedia interface or HDMI is an innovative type of technology that has completely revolutionised the entertainment industry.

If you are planning to purchase an HDMI cable, it is important to know some more about the different types of cable that are available out there.

Categories of HDMI cables

HDMI cables are divided into four different categories. The features of these cables are listed below.

Type A

Type A HDMI cables are amongst the most popular ones available today. These cables feature 19 pins and are available in standard format plug size. Being the most widely used connectivity cable available, they are perfect for connecting entertainment consoles and electronic equipment.

Type B

These types of cable are widely used in the TV and film industry. Type B HDMI cables feature 29 pins with a smaller plug size. They are perfect for the different types of devices used in the entertainment industry.

Type C and Type D HDMI cables feature the latest HDMI specification. Both feature 19 pins with small and standard plug size available. They are specially designed for HDMI compatible devices.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Comments are closed.