HDMI Cables – the specifics

HDMI cables are built in particular way which means that they are only made up to certain lengths so that they work optimally. Category 1 cables (standard) provide resolutions like 720p60 and 1080i60. Category 2 (high speed) cables provide resolutions including1080p60 and 2160p3.

5 metreĀ  HDMI cables can be made for Category 1 specifications. Using higher quality materials, an HDMI cable can be as long as 15 metres.

The following categories group HDMI cables for different purposes:

* Standard HDMI Cable – up to 1080i and 720p
* Standard HDMI Cable with Ethernet
* High Speed HDMI Cable – 1080p, 4K, 3D and Deep Color
* High Speed HDMI Cable with Ethernet

HDMI devices are made to work with relevant specifications and are categorised using numbers – for example, 1.0, 1.2, or 1.3a.
Each progressive category needs more bandwidth and therefore requires a more sophisticated cable to be able to properly transmit.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Comments are closed.