HDMI cables – a beginner’s guide

HDMI technology is now adopted by most multimedia device manufacturers. The technology was specially designed to offer high definition image and sound quality using a single cable interface. In fact, HDMI cables ease the process of connecting different devices including high definition television sets, home theater systems and multimedia gaming devices.

When it comes to buying HDMI cables, many people get confused in making their selection. As different versions of HDMI cables are available out there, it is important to purchase the one that is compatible with your device. The HDMI technology is capable of broadcasting audio and video signals using a single cable. Thus, you no longer need to have different cables for audio and video signal transmission.

Different versions of HDMI technology

Technology has greatly improved in recent years. This is one factor that has led to many different iterations of HDMI technology. While version 1.0 is the oldest, version 1.4 is the latest version. HDMI 1.4 specification offers support for audio up to 8 channels, video resolutions up to 1080p and Ethernet capability.

There are different types of HDMI cables are available for different devices. Some common types include:

Type A

It comprises of 19 pins and is available from almost all mainstream resellers.

Type B

These HDMI cables are specially developed for professional use in the broadcasting and motion picture industry. Their plug size is quite different from Type A cables and features 29 pins.

Type C and Type D

These cables feature HDMI specification 1.3 and 1.4 respectively. While they use the same configuration of 19 pins, their plug size is smaller.

Before buying an HDMI cable, carefully research the options available and go with the one specially designed for you particular device.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Comments are closed.