Comparison between the 4 different types of HDMI cables

The use of HDMI cables has become common in recent times due to their myriad of benefits. These accessories help in connecting a video/audio source to a display. The display can include an LCD/plasma TV set or a computer.

HDMI cables were first introduced in 2002, but four versions have been released since then:

HDMI cable (Ver. 1.0)

One of the most basic cables available, version 1.0 supports a maximum TMDS bandwidth of 4.95 Gbit/s and also specifies the basic audio/video HDMI interconnect. The maximum allocated bandwidth in version 1 of HDMI cables is about 3.96 Gbit/s. HDMI version 1 is also compatible with Blu-ray players.

HDMI cable (Ver. 1.1, 1.2 and 1.2a)

HDMI cables version 1.1 and 1.2 saw minor changes in functionality. However, there were no known major overhauls of the adaptors or the accessories. The new functions included added support for DVD audio in version 1.1, while version 1.2 boasted added support for 1-Bit audio devices. The CEC (Consumer Electronic Control) was also introduced for the first time in HDMI cable Version 1.2a.

HDMI cable (Ver.1.3)

This was the first major upgrade when it came to HDMI cables. There were significant enhancements to original HDMI specifications, the most noticeable being the increasing single-link bandwidth of 340 MHz or an 11.2 Gbit/s data stream.

HDMI cable (Ver.1.4)

Released in the summer of 2010, HDMI cable version 1.4 was another major upgrade to the long list of HDMI versions. Some of the major upgrades included 11 Mb/s HDMI Ethernet Channel (HEC). This enhanced the resolution for HDMI connected devices to up to 4096 x 2160p24 or 3840 x 2160 at up to 30 hertz. Additionally, version 1.4 also boasted 3D support and colour spaces designed for specific digital cameras.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Comments are closed.